Alternative candidates in Khaleda’s three seats

:: Peoples Time Online ::

The BNP has chosen three of its leaders including Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir as alternative candidates of BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia.

According to BNP sources, Fakhrul submitted his nomination paper for his own constituency Thakurgaon-1, and Bogura-6, the constituency of the party chief.

However, it has not been confirmed who are going to be alternative candidates for Bogura-7 and Feni-1 from where Khaleda Zia was supposed to contest the national elections.

On Tuesday, the High Court ordered that a convict sentenced to more than two years cannot contest elections even if his or her appeals against conviction remain pending.

And the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, on Wednesday, upheld the High Court order.

Khaleda Zia, also a former prime minister, is now in jail being convicted in two separate graft cases.

Considering these issues, BNP has decided to field several alternative candidates.

Peoples Time/AJ

Advertisement বিস্তারিত পেজের নিচের বামের  বিজ্ঞাপন
WARNING: Assigned ad is expired! Extend the term or Delete it.