Leaders created by DUCSU

:: Peoples Time Online ::

Let it be our historic movement of independence or the language movement, Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU) played a crucial role in shaping the history of our country. DUCSU is often dubbed as the workshop of creating new leaders. A number of influential leaders in the politics of Bangladesh were produced by DUCSU who played a major role in building the country at different times of their lives. Many are even glittering stars in today’s politics of ruling party Awami League.

Tofail Ahmed: He is the first name that comes to our mind when we talk about a brilliant DUCSU leader. He was vice president of the 1970 DUCSU executive body of 1968-69 term. He is called the great leader of 1969 Mass Uprising for his role. Today, he is a renowned politician of Bangladesh. He served as the Commerce and Industry Minister from 2014-2018 and 1996-2001. He was also Minister for Housing & Public Works and Industries from 21 November 2013 to 12 January 2014.  Currently, he is a member of AL’s advisory council. Besides becoming a parliamentarian in 2018 election, he has been elected a lawmaker in 1973, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2008 and 2014.

He joined AL in 1966 during the six-point movement. He did politics with Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. In 1970, he was a political secretary of Bangabandhu. He was an organizer of Mujib Bahini during the Liberation War of Bangladesh.

Matia Chowdhury: She is another veteran politician of AL who was the general secretary (GS) of DUCSU in 1963-64 term. She has been performing her duties as a presidium member for years. She was the Minister of Agriculture from 2014-2018. She held this post twice before from 1996 to 2001 and 2009 to 2013 during the previous tenures of AL in power. She has been elected as a member of parliament for six terms. She is widely known as ‘Agnikanya’ for her strong character. Her political life began as a leftist.

For organizing the anti-Ayub movement, she was detained in jail for about 2 years. She was released from jail during the mass upsurge of 1969.

Akhtaruzzaman: He is famously known for his role as the convener of Sarbadaliya Chatra Oikya Parishad (All-party Students Council), which was the anti-Ershad movement of the eighties. He was elected DUCSU GS in 1979 and 1981. Again, in 1983, he was elected VP of DUCSU. Currently, he is a member of the central executive committee and elected chairman of Gazipur District Council of AL. Earlier, from 2011 to 2016, he had been the Gazipur District Council Administrator.

After completing several stages of student politics, he served as a trainer of Bangladesh Liberation Force (BLF) or Mujib Bahini in Uttar Pradesh of India. The former organizational secretary was also elected a member of the parliament in 1996 election.

Sultan Mohammad Mansur and Mahmudur Rahman Manna are the two names who had been with the politics of AL once but now they are involved with other parties. They were also popular leaders of DUCSU who later became national leaders.

This long-waited DUCSU election will perhaps introduce more such leaders who will guide the country in the future. The election will be held on March 11 after 28 years of hiatus.

Peoples Time/HG

Advertisement বিস্তারিত পেজের নিচের বামের  বিজ্ঞাপন
Advertisement বিস্তারিত পেজের নিচের ডানের  বিজ্ঞাপন