Pakistan win toss and elects to bowl

:: Peoples Time Online ::

Pakistan have won the toss in the 17th match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 against Australia at the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton.

The match is scheduled to begin at 3:30pm (Bangladesh time) on Wednesday (June 12).

“A bit of grass, looks like a green pitch, a bit of moisture,” says Sarfraz after wining the toss and opted to bowl first.

Aaron Finch says “One-off games in different conditions, you expect to come up against the best. It’ll have to be wait-and-see what the wicket does first-up.”

After a 36-run defeat to India, defending champions Australia lock horns with an unpredictable Pakistan.

Earlier, Australia kick-started their campaign with a clinical seven-wicket win over Afghanistan and a 15-run drubbing against West Indies.

But the defending champion’s winning momentum was halted against a strong India.

Pakistan were humbled against West Indies by seven wickets but bounced back against hosts England, winning that match by 14 runs.

Their next match against Sri Lanka at Bristol was abandoned without a ball bowled.

Australia XI

David Warner,  Aaron Finch (capt),  Usman Khawaja,  Steven Smith,  Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile,  Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson

Pakistan XI
Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Amir

Peoples Time/jj

WARNING: Assigned ad is expired! Extend the term or Delete it.
WARNING: Assigned ad is expired! Extend the term or Delete it.